The Collected Works of Shakespeare

Between 1592 and 1613, William Shakespeare’s plays were produced at the English court and in the London playhouses. They were the crowning achievement of a brilliant period, when the English language achieved a beauty never before heard. An astonishing number of his metaphors and phrases are still in use today.

Sometime between 1585 and 1592, young William Shakespeare left his wife and three children behind in Stratford-upon-Avon, the village where he was born. He moved to London, where he became known as a poet and an actor. By 1594, when the theaters reopened after being closed due to the plague, he was a member of the Lord Chamberlain’s company, and recognized as the author of more than half a dozen plays. A lifetime of achievement followed.

Scholars have argued for over a century whether all of the plays attributed to Shakespeare were written by the man from Stratford-upon-Avon. Several other possible authors have been suggested. Regardless of that fact, the fine quality of the plays has never been questioned.

These plays have held their appeal over time. Fine productions have reinterpreted the plays for successive generations of theatergoers. In the twentieth century, so many films of Shakespeare’s plays were made that they form a subgenre of their own. The plays are as moving and exciting today as they have ever been.

Many different editions of Shakespeare’s works have been printed, beginning with the First Folio in 1623. Today, all of the plays are available online.  Summaries of the plays can also be read online. His sonnets and his other poetry are also available.

All's Well That Ends Well (c. 1601-1604)
As You Like It (c. 1598-1600)
The Comedy of Errors (between 1589 and 1593)
Cymbeline (c. 1608-1610)
Love's Labours Lost (c. 1588)
Measure for Measure (c. 1603-1604)
The Merry Wives of Windsor (c. 1597-1601)
The Merchant of Venice (c. 1594-1598)
A Midsummer Night's Dream (c. 1594-1595)
Much Ado About Nothing (c. 1598-1599)
Pericles, Prince of Tyre (c. 1606-1608)
Taming of the Shrew (c. 1592-1594)
The Tempest (c. 1610-1611)
Troilus and Cressida (c. 1601-1602)
Twelfth Night (c. 1600-1602)
Two Gentlemen of Verona (c. 1590-1594)
Winter's Tale (c. 1610-1611)

Antony and Cleopatra (c. 1606-1607)
Coriolanus (c. 1608)
Hamlet (c. 1599-1601)
Julius Caesar (c. 1599)
King Lear (c. 1605)
Macbeth (c. 1606-1607)
Othello (c. 1603-1604)
Romeo and Juliet (c. 1594-1596)
Timon of Athens (c. 1605-1608)
Titus Andronicus (c. 1589-1592)

Henry IV, part 1 (c. 1596)
Henry IV, part 2 (c. 1598)
Henry V (c. 1599)
Henry VI, part 1 (c. 1589)
Henry VI, part 2 (between 1589 and 1592)
Henry VI, part 3 (c. 1592)
Henry VIII (c. 1613)
King John (c. 1594-1595)
Richard II (c. 1595-1596)
Richard III (1591-1594)

The Sonnets (c. 1609)
A Lover's Complaint (c. 1609 - questionable)
The Phoenix and the Turtle (c. 1601)
The Rape of Lucrece (c. 1594)
Venus and Adonis (c. 1593)

Share on Google Plus Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Pinterest